Peyton Place

Peyton Place originated as a novel by American author Grace Metalious, and was first published in 1956. The story is set in the fictitious New England town of Peyton Place during the 1940s.

Peyton Place tells the story of Constance MacKenzie, a young widow and mother of Allison MacKenzie, who, like other parents in the town, is doing her best to keep her teenager on the right path. A series of rumors and scandals engulf the residents, including a murder, a trial, and a raft of other revelations that shake the foundations of the seemingly idyllic little town.

Metalious also wrote a sequel, Return to Peyton Place.

Although Peyton Place is a fictitious location, it has been argued that the "real" Peyton Place is a combination of several New Hampshire towns: Gilmanton, New Hampshire (where Grace Metalious lived), Gilmanton Ironworks, New Hampshire, and Gilford, New Hampshire.

Alton, New Hampshire has also been suggested as an influence for the novel due to that town being the location in which an abusive father was murdered by his daughter a few years prior to Peyton Place being written.

Peyton Place Movie

Both novels were made into movies, with the first Peyton Place movie attracting nine Academy Award nominations in 1957, including nomination for Best Picture.

View the original peyton place movie trailer below:

Peyton Place received the following Oscar® nominations:

  • Best Picture
  • Directing: Mark Robson
  • Actor in a Leading Role: Arthur Kennedy, as Lucas Cross
  • Actor in a Leading Role: Russ Tamblyn, as Norman Page
  • Actress in a Leading Role: Lana Turner, as Constance MacKenzie
  • Actress in a Supporting Role: Hope Lange, as Selena Cross
  • Actress in a Supporting Role: Diane Varsi, as Allison MacKenzie
  • Wrting - Screenplay Based on Material From Another Medium: John Michael Hayes
  • Cinematography: William Mellor

Peyton Place TV Series

A Peyton Place TV series was also produced based on the books and preceding movies.

September 29, 2016

Return to Peyton Place